These unique islands that belong to Ecuador were incorporated to this nation on 12 February 1832 naming them the Archipelago of Ecuador. The voyage of the Beagle brought the survey ship HMS Beagle, under captain Robert FitzRoy, to the Galápagos on 15 September 1835 to survey approaches to harbours. The captain and others on board, including his companion, the young naturalist Charles Darwin, made a scientific study of geology and biology on Chatham, Charles, Albemarle and James islands before they left on October 20 to continue on their round-the-world expedition. Darwin noticed the mockingbirds differed between islands. This observations were the starting point for Darwin to write the well known Evolution Theory

Tagged with:

Comments are closed.